It’s the end of the world (and I feel fine).

mayan_calendarThe year 2012 is passing into popular culture as the next Y2K. Essentially, as the theory goes, 2012 marks the end of the Mayan calendar, which signifies the coming again of their god Quetzalcoatl.

The “end of the world” mania is making its way into movies, such as the new Nicolas Cage movie, “Knowing”, in which Cage’s character finds a series of numbers that predict cataclysmic events throughout history, and then suddenly the number run out.

I’ve always been fascinated by the apocalypse as a cultural phenomenon, and why people seem to gravitate towards that which predicts their doom. I mean, you can’t fight the future – can you?

In any case, do you find apocolyptic predictions interesting? Why or why not?

4 responses to “It’s the end of the world (and I feel fine).

  1. I do find it interesting – and even though I know that there’s really no merit to any of it, it’s intriguing nonetheless… probably because the apocolypse is THE great unknown. I enjoy movies and books on the subject for the suspense of storytelling. Sounds like “Knowing” might be a good movie to check out.

  2. I’m drawn to it, too. And, to your point, it is one of the greatest unknowns that there is, which makes me feel strange when people say they know what the apocalypse is going to be like.

    I mean, in every religious book of apocalyptic literature I can think of, at some point the author finds out something that he either refuses to write down, or is told by a higher power to not write down. Our quest to know what we’re not supposed to leads us into trouble time and time again.

  3. Pingback: la-fin-du-monde.fr » News Revue de Net / Presse » Y’en a un peu plus, je vous le mets quand même ? #1

  4. If only more than 90 people would read about this!

Leave a comment